Skip to content

“Good People Have Good Luck”

May 29, 2011

“Good People Have Good Luck”.

This is what Hunter told me over breakfast in my first morning in Shanghai. Even though I had a rocky start with my housing, It was important to remember karma. As karma would have it, I was able to get in touch with Daisy and Issac from my rental agency and I was able to move in that day! After setting up a meeting time to go to my new home in Shanghai, Hunter explained that we would ride bikes to explore the city and get a China Mobile SIM card.  Everyone has seen the chaotic Chinese streets with bikes literally everywhere. Bikes pulled food, furniture, lumber, and sometimes multiple people.  Naturally, I was a little apprehensive, but Hunter assured me it was the best way to get around.  So I hopped on one of Hunter’s extra bikes and we were off! I weaved past trucks, people, and food stands, and it was surprisingly easier than it looked! When we arrived back at his house, he said I could take his extra bike for the summer. Which is how I earned my new set of wheels to get around Shanghai.

When I moved into the apartment, I found my self living and socializing with people from across the globe (France, Argentina, Chile, America, England, Germany, China). Besides the fact that we could literally host the Olympics in our apartment complex, Everyone is in their low-mid twenties and working in Shanghai.  How’s that for a melting pot? I also was invited to spend dinner with Hunter and his family. Together we made Chinese dumplings (not as easy as it looks) and ate dinner.  Dinner is very much like a dim sum restaurant with main plates and everyone eating communally from each plate.  In addition to Chinese dumplings, I sampled some donkey, pig intestine, crab legs, and fried tofu with red curry sauce.  Despite the interesting animals and body parts, dinner was fantastic! I loved spending time with Hunter’s family, and it was a great way to kick off the summer.

p.s I just bought a banana at a fruit stand….literally the best tasting fruit I have ever had. Shanghai: 1  Whole Foods: 0

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Caro permalink
    May 29, 2011 5:49 am

    That’s my shirt.

    Miss you boo, wo zhu ni hen gaoxing.

  2. Lisa permalink
    May 29, 2011 12:25 pm

    Food looks fantastic! You will need to teach dad when you get back. Is that Hunter’s daughter in the picture?

  3. May 29, 2011 12:28 pm

    How does a banana taste better at one place than another? I could never tell the difference. The dumplings look good.

    • May 29, 2011 12:51 pm

      nice icon. and it has a more intense flavor, if you must know. my dumplings are the ones closest to the camera…I dont know if I am the best teacher haha

  4. Lisa permalink
    May 29, 2011 2:21 pm

    I wondered if those were yours…I’ve seen you in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

