Skip to content

Sorry I’m Not Sorry For Bragging About The Following

June 3, 2011

I have three reasons to brag on this lovely Friday-late-afternoon-almost-the-weekend:

Reason #1. I am only two hours away from my first weekend out in shanghai, and if you are in the continental U.S, you are probably sitting stateside with coffee and a morning paper…about to start a work day.

Reason #2. I am about to experience the Shanghai night-life. Speaks for itself. If you ask about the shanghai nightlife to a seasoned traveler or a native dweller, you don’t get specifics. Here are some common responses:

“wild”

“crazy”

“you don’t know what you are in for”

“The U.S bores me”

“they know how to dance”

“have you ever tried karaoke?”

“watch out for the fake stuff, it will really get you”

So I can’t really elaborate exactly what I am in for, but I promised my parents that I wouldn’t get taken (although I don’t doubt that my dad would make an excellent substitute for Liam Neeson). And that is my Guiding Shanghai Weekend Rule.

Reason #3

While I am pretty certain I will enjoy the Shanghai Nightlife, I am also loving my job. Today our CEO, Cathy Huang gave two presentations about her trip to her conferences in Paris and Guangzhou. At the paris conference she was asked to give a presentation about transversality. What is transversality? Well Cathy didn’t know either. She explained that her research provided no concrete definition. As the date drew near, Cathy developed a presentation in which she presented her own definition of transversality. She explained that in her life transversality was the hybrid of experiences between the east and west. Her takeaway message: as designers, sometimes we are given an abstract idea or definition that we must fit into our own perspective. This is what drives unique innovation. Her second presentation was about polysensory design. How can, for example, the automobile industry design a memorable product? Simple. By intentionally and strategically incorporating all five human senses. She asked us to look at the cultural differences in sensory perception between the east and the west, as well as similarities that unite us together. As designers, considering these binary categories (similarities vs. differences) and polysensory design are important tools in design consultation and strategy. While the presentations were thought provoking and incredibly engaging, the best part was that we discussed the elements of the presentation together as a staff to broaden our understanding and add our own perspective. I almost felt as if I was back in a Davidson humanities class talking about overarching and binary themes and how they are connected to human biology and psychology. What makes products memorable? how can we frame our brainstorm to generate a better product? Anyway, I loved it. What better way to spend a lunch break than enjoying Singaporean food and a pseudo Davidson humanities discussion?

#confuciusbecominglessconfusing

#TGIF

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    June 3, 2011 12:58 pm

    2 things…what is the “fake stuff”? It doesn’t sound like your talking about handbags. Second, your job sounds incredible. You aren’t just getting coffee (or tea), but you are part of a team! Have fun…be safe, tonight

    • June 4, 2011 2:10 am

      they make fake alcohol here and will sell it to foreigners and if they are really good to bars. like they will make a fake grey goose bottle and put their own alcohol in it. sometimes it can contain formaldehyde or rubbing alcohol. And yes, they do make fake aristocrat.

Leave a Reply

