Skip to content

Man Vs. Food

June 7, 2011

All things considered, I have been pretty lucky avoiding bad food in China. Until today.

Man Vs. Food: Morning Edition

True Life Shanghai: someone puked on the metro during the morning rush hour. Everyone on the train pretended like it didn’t happen. I am seriously considering taking the bus tomorrow.

Besides the obvious disagreeable stomach of my fellow metro commuter, Today was my first encounter with accidentally consuming bad chinese fruit. this morning a fruit vendor was selling grapes that were literally the 3-4 inches in diameter. So you cannot blame me for being curious to try said grapes. I walked into the office this morning with my bag of grapes to the horror of one of my fellow team members on marketing. The mystery behind the abnormal size of the grapes are the hormones they inject into them. Evidently they don’t settle very well in the stomach. truer words have not been spoken…

Man Vs. Food: Lunch Edition

Due to the fact that it has steadily been raining since sunday and my lack of appetite due to my morning commute and subsequent food debacle,  a steaming bowl of chicken noodle seemed like a perfect idea when lunch rolled around.  I walked to the local restaurant, and confidently ordered my soup, in chinese. no stumbling. I was feeling pretty proud of myself for being so resourceful with my newly acquired chinese food vocabulary until I was served chicken broth with bok choy and a hardboiled egg (unpeeled) floating in the center.

oh China.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 4:43 pm

    “Anything that walks, swims, crawls, or flies with its back to heaven is edible.” A Contonese saying
    Ti’s a new culinary experience for you to take to heart…or heartburn. Embrace the experience

  2. Caro permalink
    June 8, 2011 4:22 am

    bu hao chi ma?

Leave a Reply

