Skip to content

Chicken Fried

June 8, 2011

I know I talk about the metro a lot. But I swear it is where the weirder things happen to me.

Like today.

One similarity between China and the U.S is that on public transportation, unless you are clinical or selling weird jewelry,  you don’t engage with strangers. Especially not if they are listening to an ipod. Its not that I don’t want to talk to people on my early morning commute, its just that I find something entertaining and slightly ironic about listening to country music while hurrying through a throng of asians.

My first China Rule was always have a back up plan.

My second China Rule is: Never assume that the chinese do not know country music. Additionally do not assume that they don’t love country music.

Sure enough, on my way to work this morning, minding my own business on the subway, listening to some country, and I get a tap on my shoulder. A middle age man excitedly points to his ears and says “Zac Brown Band!”

shock and disbelief. The man knew only a few phrases in english and one of them was Zac Brown Band. If only he had been at the marriage market last sunday…

On my ipod, I  showed him the other music I had on the playlist. As he looks through my ipod he sees “Chicken Fried” and excitedly says “hen hao!” and clicks play. You guessed it…he made me take the headphones out so he could listen to it on speaker.

you are welcome America.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Kathy permalink
    June 8, 2011 4:23 am

    Ironically, when I first moved to Chicago at the age of 22, the most interesting things and people I saw were within the public transportation system. One guy sat in the back of a bus and kept repeating that the Easter Bunny was not real. (He really ruined that for me.)

  2. June 8, 2011 4:54 am

    public transportation is chicago in its natural state….one guy tried to take his pants off looking for a transfer card once.

  3. Lisa permalink
    June 8, 2011 11:58 am

    Love this post, Vieve!

  4. Clements permalink
    June 8, 2011 3:30 pm

    and to think that country music seems foreign in Maine..

Trackbacks

  1. Hump Day Breakfast Links | Points and Figures

Leave a Reply

