Skip to content

Confucius Say….

June 20, 2011
p161622-Orlando-Epcot

“Men’s nature’s are alike. It is their habits that carry them far apart” – Confucius

Originally, my idea for this blog was to frame each post within an abstract quote by Confucius. While a lot of Confucius’s wisdom applies in the current day, I found it incredibly difficult to explain my first few days of culture shock, housing emergencies, and jet lag within the context of popular fortune cookie quotes. Over time, the idea faded and the blog took on a life of its own.

But today, I am bringing the idea back. Confucius writes extensively about man’s relationship with his fellow man as well as the greater community.  My mom asked me yesterday what it was like to live in a place where I was in close contact with so many different nationalities and cultural practices. I blurted out the first thing that came to mind: Its like being in Epcot at Disney World.

Epcot. the area of the amusement park where you can walk around and every block or so is a new country or international theme. You can visit a viking ship, go to japanese tepenyaki, and visit old country deutschland in the span of an hour.  When visitors aren’t going on a world tour, they are visiting that giant golf ball that takes its visitors on a ride through the future of technology and Disney’s vision for the world in ten years. If you ignore the inflated prices and Disney’s impeccable level of street cleanliness, my experience in China has been like spending 3 weeks inside Epcot.

Navigating through the streets of Nanjing road and the metro can make you feel like you are living in year 2020 instead of 2011.  The handheld technology being used by fellow shoppers, the fast pace of architectural development, and the high speed metro, make you feel like america is moving in slow motion and stuck in time. Its like the never ending golf ball ride inside Epcot.

And then there is my building, and the network of people I have met beyond my  building. If I add it all up, I have lived in close quarters with people from nine different countries (malaysia, france, germany, england, mexico, argentina, brazil, china, and  canada) and met a network of people from as much as fifteen different countries. We all unite together under the definition of “ex-pat” but we all have different cultural experiences and habits to bring to the relationship.  Spending time with the people in Building 69 is like Epcot because of the constant display of internationalism and the fact that everyone appears to be having the time of their lives ( and who has a bad time in Disneyworld).

Confucius says that men’s natures are alike, but our habits carry us apart.  While there is certainly evidence to support that assertion, my experience in shanghai has been exactly the opposite.  It is the recognition of our differences that brings us closer together and helps me to grow in ways that I hadn’t yet considered. I also have that european double kiss greeting down to an art.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    October 31, 2012 8:59 pm

    whats the maening of this quote

  2. November 9, 2012 2:42 pm

    You actually make it appear so easy together with your
    presentation but I to find this matter to be really
    something which I believe I would never understand.
    It kind of feels too complicated and very large for
    me. I am having a look ahead for your next put up, I will attempt
    to get the grasp of it!

  3. December 9, 2012 12:32 am

    Link exchange is nothing else but it is only placing the other person’s web site link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do same in favor of you.

  4. January 24, 2013 4:08 am

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not
    even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, very
    good blog!

  5. flygonbolt permalink
    March 27, 2013 4:50 am

    what is the meaning of this quote

Leave a Reply

