Skip to content

#ShanghaiStruggles

June 27, 2011

Given how fast and advanced China appears to be, it certainly hasn’t figured out everything. Before this weekend, I had been living in a fantasy about China’s level of service when it came to fixing things, having things delivered etc. It all started when my phone broke. Its partially my fault, The screen had been shorting out or freezing every since I had turned it on four weeks ago.  But I hoped that it could at least last long enough for me to use it the rest of the summer. Of course, no one can be that lucky with technology, the phone made its last call friday afternoon.

I thought, what better an opportunity to explore xujiahui’s electronics market than a broken iphone? So saturday morning I began my day in a mall with three floors of electronics and shrewd bargaining. miraculously, I found a mac resale shop that said they would fix my phone, all it would take was one hour.

At this point, I am feeling pretty proud of myself. My phone would be fixed in no time. But when I came back to the shop an hour later, my phone was no where to be found. They explained it was still being fixed in their shop. I knew this wasn’t a good sign, and sensing that maybe I had been hustled by some asian tech geeks, I demanded to see my phone. Like all transactions in chinese markets, they led me to their warehouse where they showed me the remains of my phone. pieces of metal and chips thrown unceremoniusly into a tupperware container. Shocked I asked them what they had done to my phone. They assured me they could put it back together…..

and they did, but who really knows if it will ever work again. I am still stuck without a phone, with big plans to go to the apple store.

The second weekend struggle was the fabric market. On sunday I went to the fabric market to pick up my clothes. Of course, they weren’t ready yet but she offered to deliver them to my house. to make a long story short, I have spent the past 24 hours playing telephone tag with our delivery man who can’t seem to figure out where I live.

Oh Shanghai.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Darden permalink
    June 27, 2011 3:02 pm

    gen your blog is hilarious. makes me miss you! D

  2. Aunt Kari permalink
    June 27, 2011 7:13 pm

    I love that they actually took you to show you the bits that were once your phone! See experiences like that ONLY happen outside the US. Hopefully they are able to put humpty dumpty back together again!

Leave a Reply

