Skip to content

Today, I speak AMURICAN.

July 5, 2011

Happy Fourth of July Folks!

For the last twenty years of my life, the fourth of July has revolved around cherry pie, fireworks, backyard parties, and begging my parents into letting me stay out later. This year, I went to a mexican bar…in China. Never saw a firework and I have yet to see anything resembling pie. but I did get to stay out as late as I wanted!

Chinese celebration of the birth of American Democracy is decidedly minimal. I went to work and asked if there were going to be fireworks anywhere today. nope. not even a dragon? Definitely not.

So I shrugged my shoulders and decided to give up on any hope of a real fourth of July. My american roommates and I did our best to celebrate our day once we all got home from work. We toasted to the U.S of A with a cold budweiser, I wore cowboy boots and jorts, and puff daddy wore a sweet america hat and a cut off t shirt. We bursted into patriotic fanfare on the street, even clapped to wagon wheel in the cab on our way to….Zapatas. A Mexican bar. Where else? However, Zapatas is rarely frequented by mexicans. It is actually packed with americans, and on the fourth, they served free beer…so the american spirit was in full force. We danced to Bruce Springsteen, all kinds of country, and rihanna all under the watchful eye of a policeman with a red armband at the door. Right after screaming my guts out to chelsea dagger and born in the U.S.A, I leaned over to the guy that was dancing and singing just as enthusiastically with me and said, where in the U.S are you from?

I am from ITALY!!!!!!!!!

…and I am still definitely in Shanghai.

Although I didn’t leave disappointed, Puff and I found PLENTY  of Americans to share our revelry.

God bless America!

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Caro permalink
    July 5, 2011 1:57 pm

    SONG, SONG OF THE SOUTH, SWEET POTATO PIE AND I SHUT MY MOUTH.
    I celebrated Amurica at a beach with 4wheelers and pick up trucks.

  2. July 6, 2011 2:42 am

    note that the asian baby is not wearing pants. its why I chose the photo

Leave a Reply

