Skip to content

You Get What You Pay For

July 14, 2011
Unknown-3

Its the -ism that has defined my day.

1.cheap nokia cellphone : 100 RMB

Yeah, 100 RMB makes any college kid on a budget feel like they just won the shopping lottery, until that 100 RMB investment begins to experience technical difficulties. And trust me, you will regret it even more when you stupidly have been using it as your alarm clock and it shorts out…in the morning. I’d like to say I wasn’t that college kid, but I am guilty on all counts. This morning I did not wake up to my phone alarm like I should have, but over a parking squabble between two of my chinese neighbors. The time was 9:40 am. I was supposed to be at work at 9 am. I sprinted around my apartment picking up the things I need for work and I am out the door, albeit unshowered, at 9:49 am.  Not that it would have mattered if I had showered, sprinting down the street to the metro stop in the middle of a shanghai summer isn’t exactly what I would call breezy.

2. Motorcycle Taxi- 15 RMB

Is it so wrong to indulge in yet another reckless motorcycle ride with a driver who gives me a cheaper price because he was happy to hear I don’t yet have a chinese boyfriend? I think not. And when I am sprinting down a street in the humidity, let me tell you, a motorcycle with the wind in my face sounds like a pretty good option. And I get to practice my chinese! I learn chinese slang from my roommates and I like to test it with the motorcycle drivers. Recently, I learned the phrase for “awesome”, which translates to “cows vagina!” I know- super crass, but the way it was explained was that for the chinese, bigger is always better, and it is a way to express excitement or anticipation. So….I guess a cows vagina falls under that category, and they say it all the time. Today while on the motorcycle taxi I shouted “cows vagina go faster!”. Not only did he get a real kick out of the laowai on the back of his bike using chinese slang, but he understood me…and the man went faster. Maybe too fast. Either way, I got to work at 10 am. positive investment , got what I paid for.

3. incredibly sore legs

Huangshan bootcamp started with a two mile warmup and running sprints with puff. You can imagine my regret as I attempted to run to the train station before I hopped on a motorcycle.

4. Chinese Food-10 RMB

needless to say, I was starving when it came time for lunch as I didn’t have time to eat breakfast. We went to a xiaolongbao cafeteria restaurant today for lunch. The lunchtime rat race was in full swing. not only was it packed with a line out the door but inside was a loud drone of noise from the restaurant staff yelling at each other, or at the people dining. People dining were yelling at each other over tables, seats, and at their children who were running pell mell all over the restaurant. The combination of total sensory overload and starvation proved to be almost too much for me (mom and dad- think singapore christmas but this time I held myself together). On top of that, my food didn’t come for twenty minutes. my co worker had to go yell at the lao ban twice before my food came.  I got what I paid for in terms of the service, but I definitely got what I paid for when thirty minutes later, the growling in my stomach was no longer hunger….but something far scarier to a foreigner in China.

that’s right. food poisoning.

Its 3:35 pm in Shanghai as I write this. I still have more than half a day to find out what else karma has in store for me.

you get what you pay for!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 10:34 am

    Oh no! If you absolutely have to, eat some tea leaves straight. Like one or two bags. Should “bottle” things up.

  2. Caro permalink
    July 14, 2011 12:46 pm

    真的啊?!?! 服务员上菜上得不快。现在你不舒服。对不起,我希望你的明天比今天更好。我想你。 今天我会学习生词!今天晚上是“渴星期四” hehe。我跟我的朋友么出去玩儿!你跑步在哪儿?

    爱。

  3. Aunt Kari permalink
    July 18, 2011 4:07 pm

    I’m really sorry about the food poisoning! That’s the worst!! I hope you are feeling better now!

Leave a Reply

