Skip to content

Muay Thai Makes A Man Out Of You

July 26, 2011
Unknown-5

I was never a big fan of Mulan, maybe because I never relinquished my loyalty to The Little Mermaid. But for some unexplained reason, I felt it completely necessary to try some sort of asian martial arts…while in Asia. Unfortunately, even sampling a class can be upwards of 100 kuai for one lesson.  I was pretty sore about paying that amount, especially if most of it was going to be promotion for the martial arts gym.  So I did what any blogger would do, tried to sound as important as possible. I explained to one of the most established boxing gyms in shanghai, that I was an american blogger looking to try and write about muay thai boxing.  one hour later I was stretching at Hero Spirit Martial Arts Studio with puff….and free of charge. We worked one on one with a professional muay thai boxer for 90 minutes. I learned the stance, the kick, the different punches, and even how to do a roundhouse! Despite my lanky frame, and the fact that I was the only girl, I definitely held my own. In fact, I kind of loved it! It may have even been a better stress reliever than running. Muay thai martial arts and boxing gets a full positive report from me! Even though I liked it a lot, the entire time I was thinking about one person who would love it a whole lot more. Caroline Carter- next time you “just want to hit something” go ahead and enroll in some muay thai. It will do your soul some good!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    July 26, 2011 11:16 am

    OMG. You are your fathers daughter! You should see him whip out his phone and threaten a Yelp review if a restaurant won’t honor a reservation! If bee decides to take this next summer, does that mean our computers are safe at home?

  2. Caro permalink
    July 26, 2011 3:54 pm

    I JUST WANT TO HIT SOMETHING!!!!!!!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    July 26, 2011 3:57 pm

    Ah grasshopper
    You have now found what Wil has found. Martil arts is great, relaxation, workout and increases focus and reflexes.
    Besides it is very satisfying to learn multiple styles and to open a can of whoop….. on your opponent while sparring. Can’t wait to see a picture of you breaking your first board or brick.
    Uncle Bruce

  4. Anonymous permalink
    July 28, 2011 4:08 pm

    Janine and Aunt Kathy want to know if your sister sometimes “hit on you” whenever she wanted to hit something?

Leave a Reply

