Skip to content

DIY Fashion

July 27, 2011

When I first found out how easy it was to design your own clothing in China, my first thought was,  then why is chinese fashion so strange and appears to be put on without much concern for color or texture scheme?

then I answered my own question, because they can literally design whatever they want on the cheap. It may be communism…but style is all about the individual.

It was not long ago (since 1981) that the cultural revolution was announced an “error” by the Chinese Government, and their people were slowly allowed to access western fashion.  As far as I am concerned, the majority of the chinese still appear to be in transition. For example, I have seen the pairing of lacy miniskirts with shirts covered in bows, rhinestones, and hello kitty.

That being said, I love that they have snappy dress and coat makers willing to work in the western style. I have had a few of my favorite dresses remade in different colors and fabrics, and just recently I have designed my own peacoat! Thats right, for 75 dollars I was able to custom design a cashmere, double lined peacoat complete with a fur hood.  And it will be ready in time for winter….approximately three days from now. I was able to pick the material, the design, the length, even the types of buttons I wanted. And these craftsmen are real jack of all trade types, One of my European coworkers had her wedding dress custom designed in Shanghai, for a fraction of what it would cost anywhere else.

It appears, that I have hit the gold mine for custom fashion.  Of course I always laugh at the extravagance and indulgent lifestyle of people who casually travel to paris for their kids sweet sixteen dress, just so they can get it one of a kind for a thousand dollar price tag. But now I wonder, is it worth it to go to Shanghai just to shop for a new wardrobe? Can a three thousand dollar plane ticket and an empty suitcase make the trip worth a bargain hunters while?

…and mom, I have asked on skype and email about your measurements. Can you please respond? I need to design your coat…..

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Bruce permalink
    July 28, 2011 8:21 pm

    Does your dad need a new camoflage coat for deer season? He would be the only one in the woods in commie camo . One of a kind Christmas present!!

  2. Caro permalink
    July 31, 2011 5:21 pm

    I’m going duck huntin and deer huntin in the fall, you should get me some camo.

Leave a Reply

