Skip to content

Cheap Labor

August 4, 2011

Nothing cures the morning after a night out like a torrential downpour.  I know this because in the middle of a shanghai torrential downpour is exactly where I found myself this morning.  Usually the chinese are pretty practical about preparing for rainstorms.  They always have umbrellas, rain or shine, the wear extra big ponchos so they can comfortably ride a scooter with the poncho draped over it, and some ladies will even wear high heeled rain boots. This way, no fashion statement is compromised by poor weather conditions.  But this particular downpour exhibited none of the typical chinese preperations. Actually, there wasn’t a local to be found outside this morning.  One would think that after nearly three months of living in Shanghai, I would figure out when it was going to rain. One would also think that if there were weather alerts about a typhoon I would know about it.  Its these ‘miscommunications’ that make my life interesting in China. At any rate, when the heavens opened and let loose a polluted china downpour I was outside with the other misinformed lao wais on my way to the  fabric market.  For those of you that have had the fortune of finding my old leather in random places on the court, you know that my old leather jacket has been well loved, and possibly past its prime. And what better way to replace the old leather jacket than with my own custom design? And so while waiting to pick up my new cashmere coat that I designed (less than $75) I went ahead and designed my own leather jacket.

Labor is so cheap in China, it kind of scares me. In a really awesome way.

And then I bought friends with benefits at the local DVD store for 75 cents.  Not like its still in theaters or anything.   The rest of the day was spent in preparation for my very last weekend in Shanghai…brace yourselves, I know I am.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Caro permalink
    August 4, 2011 1:31 pm

    WAHHH I CAN’T WAIT FOR YOU TO HUI JIA!!! HUI JIA!!!!

Leave a Reply

