Skip to content

The College Game

August 15, 2011

Two college rankings were recently published: The top ten colleges and universities that party the most, and the top ten colleges and universities that study the most.  In four days I will be a Junior at Davidson, one of the colleges that study the most, and my little sister (who just turned 18 today) will be a freshman at Ole Miss, one of the colleges that parties the most.

I got the idea for writing this post when my grandpa, who had come to celebrate Caroline’s 18th birthday, pat us both on the back when he was leaving and said to me “make sure you have some fun next year” and said to Caroline “Pay attention to your studies”

Davidson, the once revered and untouchable college in the Carter family has recieved quite a beating in the carter home as of late. Caroline put it quite plainly to me today at the kitchen table.

“Look at the facts. My school has football, your team sucks. We have sororities, your team doesn’t. We have a national following in the whole south, you have the eastern seaboard, plus Dad wears Ole Miss T-shirts. I don’t see any reason for mom and dad to ever really want to go to Davidson again.”

Funnily enough, I didn’t really see any reason to play the college game with her.

The college game is the seemingly inevitable conversation you have with high school friends when you come back from break. And I was naive to think that college related comparison was over after we finished college board exams. Its more than a major pet peeve of mine, and I am only really consistently aware of three pet peeves.

1.Long dirty fingernails (a particular issue in China)

2. talking on the phone when trying to do seven other things

3.playing the college game

I digress. The fact is, I and the rest of the people at Davidson know Caroline has had more than a great time on our campus. I think the real reason that I didn’t see a point in answering the smug incoming freshman that is my sister, is that I recognized her excitement and thrill over a fresh start. It is one of the best parts about being a freshman. And then there is the perk of being a junior, and knowing what you are going back to every fall. I realized in that moment that I was so excited to get back to Davidson, it really didn’t matter what my little sister had to say about it.

I love that our football team doesn’t have a huge following, it means they hang out more with everyone else

And that our food isn’t a 24 hour southern spread (I won’t pack on the extra lbs)

I love our party scene, I think its great we don’t have a bar in town to go to. This way a thursday visit to Kpub is that much more exciting.

and in terms of studying,  I take a secret thrill in pulling an all nighter in the library and Belk Lab, but that doesn’t mean I’m not going out more than just friday and saturday….

This blog post would be entirely too long if I kept going on about Davidson. I’m a tour guide, go on one of my tours if you really want to find out more, But just know that Caroline hasn’t gotten in my head (even though all my family eats these days is southern food, talks about tail gating, and Oxford Mississippi) The fact is,  I have traveled as far as China, and still have yet to find a place quite like Davidson. So I am sending out all my Davidson love to everyone who I am looking forward to seeing on Thursday as well as all those abroad who I won’t see.

And not to discredit the last paragraph, but it was my sister’s birthday, and we do have a rather long history of being crabby on one anothers birthdays.

Gen: age 5, Caroline: age 2.5

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Kari - the late one permalink
    August 15, 2011 12:39 pm

    Great post dear niece! College is just like life…it’s what you make of it. It doesn’t matter where you go.

  2. August 15, 2011 12:48 pm

    I see you tried to upstage the Bee on her birthday. She needs a blog.

  3. August 15, 2011 12:48 pm

    I don’t own a Davidson T shirt, can’t wear one!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    August 30, 2011 1:14 am

    I loved the video and the blog. Honestly, did Baby-so-real really need batteries? Belated happy birthday, Gen. Caroline, everybody loves her college — even if they’re completely different. Right? Right!

    • Anonymous permalink
      August 30, 2011 1:14 am

      I didn’t intend to be anonymous. It’s Ted in 3C.

Leave a Reply

