Skip to content

Your Focus

November 21, 2011

Do I have something better to do right now? Absolutely. I could plead the fifth and give no excuse for choosing to blog instead of translating Chinese newspaper articles, but there are some legitimate reasons for this blog post.

1. Have you ever read a Chinese newspaper article? They are absolutely ridiculous. No wonder Chinese have no idea what is going on in the world. I’m reading about how a professor at a university was working overtime and met his spouse because he needed to borrow her office lamp. Really, China?

2. I have this fantastic delusion that blogging is somehow an investment in my future success.

3. You know how the classic 90’s comedy Seinfeld tows this whole line about being “a show about nothing” yet delivers shows that are constantly entertaining? If you haven’t heard that….then turn on wgn because Seinfeld is better than the Golden Girls reruns you are watching on Sunday. At any rate….I wonder if you could do that with a blog. Where the reader is consistently entertained by a blog post about nothing?

3. Writing has become a way for me to occupy my time when my friends are all abroad, and its kind of cathartic.

4. My friends are all back from abroad. I am really out of practice with bestie interaction.  This is the thing when you hang out with boys for a whole semester: sitting on the couch watching you tube videos in sweatpants in complete silence is just another weekend day at Watson. Now I have to talk a lot.  I am also realizing that my friends’ culture shock from being back might be similar to the culture shock I am experiencing of suddenly having a giant group of girls to socialize with.  and now time management skills have become an essential. I am also out of practice with time management, clearly.

Anyway, while I devised a strategy to manage hanging out with my new old friends….inevitably Adderall came up. Before anyone jumps to conclusions; no wonder she is blogging, she is probaby hyped up on vivance and is going to be awake until 5 am. I have never actually taken Adderall in order to concentrate because I have always been excellent about managing my time.  But now, I don’t even think Hermione Granger and that damn time travel necklace (book 3) could possibly  find enough time to hang out and get all this work done unless I was working on adderall around the clock, so the option intrigues me. But this also makes me wonder a few things: is Adderall against the honor code if you weren’t prescribed it, or is it leveling out the playing field because everyone uses it? If prescription drugs are becoming the norm, are to what extent are our percieved problems real or imagined?

I can’t tell you how many times in my academic career of privileged liberal art academia that I heard: I can’t get anything done unless I have adderall.  I myself have never actually used it.  It’s not exactly one of those substances that people are trying to share at a party. Hwever, I have never been in a positionthat even a herculean attempt made by my natural mental capacity would still not be enough to tackle my workload until now.  Am I the problem, or the system? The academic expectations of society has not only caused schools to inflate their grading scale by an inordinate amount, but the pressure to make the grade seems to have started a drug market for prescription ADD meds.  Is this an appropriate response to market demands? Oddly enough, I think so.  The problem starts when we as students begin to lose confidence in our own ability to achieve without the use of a drug (sounds like a scifi plotline)

The whole conundrum is making me a little neurotic to tell you the truth.  On one end, I can bang out an A paper in half the time it would normally take me, with time to spare on hanging out with my family over thanksgiving break.  On the other end, is my ego going to feel a little bruised knowing I wouldn’t have been able to do it without Adderall? Or is it really a placebo after all?

Is this what pregnant women who opt for an epidural feel like?

Does the end ultimately justify the means?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    November 22, 2011 12:07 am

    Seriously? I have 2 words for you…..extended time.

    • November 22, 2011 12:16 am

      Davidson often fixes tests so that extended time is irrelevant. Adderall is a whole new college ball game

  2. Anonymous permalink
    November 24, 2011 4:14 am

    Is there any differance between speed/uppers and Adderall….not. Re entry can be a bitch in both cases. In both cases they are a crutch for a gimpy mind. The grass will always be greener on the other side if you think it is. How much does a tab of adderall go for on the street? Is it’s value, real or precieved worth the outcomes? This generation thinks this is all new when most of the parents went through this decades ago.Check out the “electric kool-aid acid test” for some light thanksgiving weekend reading.

  3. November 27, 2011 7:41 pm

    Is Red Bull legal on Davidson’s campus when it comes to partying? Figured the honor code ruled there too! ; )

    • November 27, 2011 7:46 pm

      technically. any form of underage drinking is against the honor code ;0

  4. August 7, 2013 2:53 am

    の正規品専門店

  5. August 7, 2013 2:54 am

    財布 エルメス

  6. August 7, 2013 2:55 am

    格安販売店

  7. August 7, 2013 3:07 am

    hermes シューズ

  8. August 7, 2013 3:08 am

    hermes アウトレット バッグ

  9. August 7, 2013 3:55 am

    を低価格でご提供する激安通販

  10. August 7, 2013 4:01 am

    hermes 小物

Leave a Reply

