Skip to content

Technological Purgatory

December 16, 2011

I can’t think of a better blonde joke turned reality than my current struggle to build a website. To frame you reference, it took me hours before I was happy with this blog, and all of this is predesigned, precoded, and built for the technological dunce.

Why am I trying to build a website? Well, I am at the point where I am asking that question myself.  I have a business idea for connecting college kids.  The details, and the website, are still in beta. Although really I am wondering if this is just one of my ways of staying busy over the long christmas break because this is literally going to take me all. break. I have had to learn the ins and outs of plugins, wordpress.org, buying a domain name, connecting the domain name to a web host, and that is just the tip of the iceberg. I know the list is a lot longer, and it involves a lot of numbers, underscores, and parentheses organized into a code that a computer can read, but looks more foreign than chinese.

So here I am, working through self help domain name server registration, making sense of acronyms like DNS, RSS, and whatever other dumb initials that bar normal people like myself from understanding the web design ecosystem. (Is this what GDIs feel like when we talk about frats?)

As you can probably tell, it is thrilling. I think I am going to go outside now. Maybe interact with real people.

<script type=”text/javascript”>
var vglnk = { api_url: ‘//api.viglink.com/api’,
key: ‘f0ce0d443351501eaf18ac13c2199e55’ };

(function(d, t) {
var s = d.createElement(t); s.type = ‘text/javascript’; s.async = true;
s.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? vglnk.api_url :
‘//cdn.viglink.com/api’) + ‘/vglnk.js’;
var r = d.getElementsByTagName(t)[0]; r.parentNode.insertBefore(s, r);
}(document, ‘script’));
</script>

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    December 16, 2011 8:15 pm

    T’is a brain teasin excercise to be sure. Those Davidson brain cells should be up to the task….if not call on your extended family.

  2. Rita permalink
    December 17, 2011 3:45 am

    We need a service like this in Fairbanks and I have just the person to run the Fairbanks version (your first franchisee!). Can you have the site up and ready soon ’cause I need to find a house-sitter!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Breakfast Links | Points and Figures

Leave a Reply

