Skip to content

Brand Me

January 7, 2012

What’s in a name?

Well, to be honest I am starting to think a lot. In a world where a young millenial (millennial, i just learned is the official name for my generation) individuals such as myself are constantly bombarded with tweets, facebook updates, and news concerning whether snooki knows the term “caucus”, self promotion might be a bigger deal than we even realize because we already do it.

Every time we interact in social media we are in some way shape or form promoting ourselves.

But are we only scratching the surface of the benefits that social media can offer in the form of self promotion?

I say, absolutely yes.

If I had it my way, I would be pushing my musings out on my own you tube channel, I would have already written my novel, and a camera would be filming me write this blog post in hopes that I might say or do something that might inspire a few more viewers. In all honesty, that would dwarf any kind of resume I might have coming out of college, wouldn’t it?

Is self promotion something college kids should be throwing in a resume? uhh yes and below my g.p.a I hope you will take note of the 1,000 tweets I have racked up thus far.  

take note from the classic line brought to you by the 1%: its not what you know its who you know.  Well kids, social media just ended that barrier to entry.  The full benefits of self promotion and branding your identity as opposed to your degree or your product have not yet been fully recognized, why miss out on all the fun?

Tweet on. Blog on. and follow me! whoisgengalt

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    January 7, 2012 5:15 am

    Gen galt. Love it.

Leave a Reply

