Skip to content

Your Inner Child

May 9, 2012

Today my Dad turned fifty, and I threw out my back.

They are in no way related except for the fact that ironically enough, they both have to do with age.

Still taking finals, I very publicly attempted to lift my bag full of study materials in the college union. Then something in my back gave out. It was such a shock to my system, that I dropped like a rock onto the ground, and was forced to pretend like I missed the couch next to me.

After dragging myself onto the couch and waving to a fellow student that, yes I am totally fine, I sat there thanking the finals gods that I, at the very least, still had my precious ipad on me so that I could viciously berade my friends through every social media outlet I could think of in order to complain about my cranked out back.

And then I saw the constant twitter updates, instagrams, and facebook wellwishers sending their social media love to my dad on his fiftieth birthday.  Since I was already marooned on this couch in the union, I decided to rifle through them all.

Although, perhaps the best message was the one written by the man himself. (family blog plug)  It’s a good read, and hey, I know most readers are looking for any way out of studying for finals, so I highly encourage a look.

No college kid in their right minds likes to think of the prospect of maturity.  Many of us are concerned that the end of these four years means the end of anything good in the world. Or as my date to Kappa Sigma formal put it, 27 is the last good year. It is all downhill from there. I have five more good years.

But for my dad, that is hardly the case. He is a firm believer in the importance of entertaining your inner child, and recognizing that the people who really understand life are the ones who realize that life is a gift, and strive to really really live out life.  People have ‘carpe diem’ written all over their journals, walls, possibly an artful tramp stamp, but few are those who take it a step further and value their own journey, the journeys of others and each day as a gift.

But in all seriousness, Sometimes it is tough to remember that life is a gift when you are wasting away in the basement of the library…and it takes a man turning fifty to remind us college kids of our inner child, that even finals is an experience worth living and learning from, and to treat each day even after college and the age of twenty-seven as a true gift.

Happy Birthday Dad, and as always, thanks for the advice.

(Sorry I don’t have an artfully done instagram montage….but kudos to Caroline Carter, It rocked, and you need to show me how to do it when I get home from Davidson)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2013 6:47 am

    これらの側面は確かにアクティブなライフスタイルを持つ人々を誘惑することができ頻繁に物理的なトレーニングを行っている

  2. beaconrolexwatch.wordpress.com permalink
    May 7, 2013 12:48 pm

    Superb blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you propose
    starting with a free platform like WordPress or go
    for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. Breakfast Links | Points and Figures

Leave a Reply

